From unexpected events to pleasant surprises.

Today as told by Avner
Today just happened to bring a lot of unexpected events. Two storms hit the Philippines and it has brought a lot of places submerged in flood. I woke up to prepare for an interview and but I went out to check the facebook and messenger to get some news (social media has been my source of news lately) and one of my office mates posted a declaration from the Presidential Spokesperson cancelling all government works in Metro Manila.

After reading the announcement, I immediately turned on my TV and checked out the news and it confirmed the said work suspension. At that time, I sent a text to the HR of our central office to know if the interview will still push through and they advised of its cancellation.

With a cancelled appointment, I just then rehearsed instead for the music ministry’s line up of songs for the Tuesday Service. But after a shortwhile, a post from Victory Makati was shared on Facebook cancelling the Tuesday Service as well.

So there I was at home, clueless about what I would do for the day. All my to do plans were cancelled and I can’t get out because of the weather.

But then, today also has some pleasant surprises.

One of which is that my mom’s been discharged from the hospital. She was hospitalized yesterday due to hypertension. The Lord is good. He heard our prayers and today, she finally got home.

It was also a pleasant surprise to me that I got to have a catch up with my brother, Edimer. He’s taking up accountancy and he’s been preparing for graduation, thus the reason why I don’t get much to have the time talking to him. But today, I was finally able to catch up with him and encourage him in his studies. I was glad that God allowed me to share to my bother the word from 1 Corinthians 13, the message about love.

To summarize my day, I am reminded that there are things or situations that we really can’t control and understand but God is doing something behind it all.

We may not see the purpose of it but when we know that God is with us, through the storms, the cancelled plans, the sickness, the busyness, His comfort and security are always available.

Leave a comment